Hezekiah’s Illness and Recovery

 

 

20 In those days Hezekiah became terminally ill. The prophet Isaiah son of Amoz came and said to him, “This is what the Lord says: ‘Put your affairs in order, for you are about to die; you will not recover.’”

Then Hezekiah turned his face to the wall and prayed to the Lord, “Please Lord, remember how I have walked before You faithfully and wholeheartedly and have done what pleases You.” And Hezekiah wept bitterly.

Isaiah had not yet gone out of the inner courtyard when the word of the Lord came to him: “Go back and tell Hezekiah, the leader of My people, ‘This is what the Lord God of your ancestor David says: I have heard your prayer; I have seen your tears. Look, I will heal you. On the third day from now you will go up to the Lord’s temple. I will add 15 years to your life. I will deliver you and this city from the hand of the king of Assyria. I will defend this city for My sake and for the sake of My servant David.’”

 

Today I wept bitterly with pain and misunderstanding. I’ve been entangled in so many lies about who I am and who my Savior is. I’ve been exactly where my enemy wants me: paralyzed, stagnant, apathetic, empty. Such Grace God pours out on me when I’ve let myself become so far removed from Him (from my perspective). He does not yell, He does not shame. He does not even overwhelm this time. He simply stands near, stands next to me in the midst of every conversation, every painful blow to my heart, and He waits. He weeps next to me, with me, whether I acknowledge Him or not. Because He is not above weeping with His children. He takes each painful blow upon Him and says for this I died for you. He has impressed upon my soul that He will not relent until every fiber of my being knows the depths of His love for me. For His daughter. Until I see His face in front of mine. His eyes looking back into mine and I realize He’s the only one who has ever truly known me. He’s known me all along. 

But in the mean time, He leaves a trail that leads to Him. He sends dear friends to my doorstep with a chai latte and lunch. He speaks to me through His Word and makes me laugh out loud because it couldn’t be more obvious what He’s trying to say… and because He enjoyed the laugh as well. He delivered a letter to my mailbox on the most timely day and didn’t even let me discover it until it would be well received… and as if the snail mail didn’t warm my heart already, moments later a handwritten letter is handed to me with an old photograph just reinforcing His love and His truth… just because. He sings to me through worship music that my heart is drawn to throughout the week… “It is for freedom I have been set free.” For freedom, didn’t you know? 

He plucks me from a slimy river of sin and places me in pure, fresh waters of forgiveness. He drenches my life with Grace when I’ve collected up enough mistakes to destroy all He has built. He heals. He heals me. He promises me this. He has and He will continue to heal me if I allowed Him into those places no one has ever been. He will deliver me. That’s a promise. 

Leave a Reply

